La Porte Elementary

Skip to main content

District celebrates Teachers of the Year, service and retirees at annual celebration

Bethany Free, reading interventionist at Bayshore Elementary School, and Chuck Jobson, science teacher at La Porte High School, were named the District Teachers of the Year at the May 2 La Porte ISD Service Awards celebration at La Porte High School Student Center. Superintendent Lloyd W. Graham announced their selection following recognition of all LPISD Campus Teachers of the Year.

Pat Studdert of Buffalo Marine Service, Inc., former LPISD trustee and long-time friend of the district, presented each of the District Teachers of the Year with a check for $7,000 as well as tickets to a Houston Astros game.

The theme for the luncheon was “Camp Bulldog,” with many LPISD staff members dressed to reflect the theme. Prior to the announcement of the District Teachers of the Year, principals escorted their respective Campus Teachers of the Year to the stage as brief bios on each were read.

Other elementary honorees and their respective schools include Jessica Gunn, College Park; Debi Anderson, Heritage; Kathy Parisher, La Porte; Rebecca Clark, Lomax; Sheila Cowherd, Jennie Reid; and Connie Land, Leo A. Rizzuto. Other secondary honorees are Natalie Melton, James H. Baker Sixth Grade Campus; Veronica DeLeon, La Porte Junior High; Kirsti Bostick, Lomax Junior High; Ryan Wuergler, LPISD Academy of Viola DeWalt High School; Anjanette Siller, Disciplinary Alternative Education Program; and David Duvall, La Porte High School (Non-Core Areas).

Michael Lehmann, assistant band director at La Porte High School, was announced as the district’s Rookie Teacher of the Year. Deanna Narcisse, principal of Leo A. Rizzuto Elementary School, was honored as Principal of the Year.

The crowd gave standing ovations to two employees honored for the highest milestones of years of service to the district. Mike Clausen, deputy superintendent, who started his career as a teacher and coach at La Porte Junior High and has served in several administrative roles at the campus and district levels, was recognized for 50 years of service. Agnes Brown was recognized for her service as an LPISD bus driver for the past 45 years.

Joycelyn Dyer of Transportation, and Jeff LaReau and Sandra Warren of La Porte High School were honored for 35 years of service to the district. Thirty-year honorees were Suzi Brach, Leo A. Rizzuto Elementary; Michelle Deckard, Nutrition; Chuck Jobson, La Porte High School; and Mario Mireles, Sanjuana Ornelas, Gene Rashell, and Jimmy Walter of Maintenance.

Honored for 25 years of service to La Porte ISD were Christine DeLong, La Porte Junior High; Francine Graves, Heritage Elementary; Annette Hodges, Nutrition; Linda Layton, Nutrition; Fredna Lussier, Lomax Junior High; Frankie Periou, Business Office; Karen Sexton, Business Office; and Patricia Stagg, La Porte High School.