La Porte Elementary

Skip to main content

Former spelling champ reclaims top prize, fifth-grader is runner-up

The two were among 30 participants, the top three spellers from each of the elementary and junior high campuses, in the annual district competition, which was held at the LPISD Administration Building on Feb. 22.  Tristan is a familiar face at the awards presentation, having been the district runner-up in 2017 and the champion in 2016.


Elementary participants and the schools they represented were Kayla Juarez, Adelaide Kipper and Caleb Tapia, Bayshore; Dylan Arriazola, Lily Bonsal and Patrick Squires, College Park; Jacob Martinez and Samuel Quinones, Heritage; Aiden Davis, Johnathan Evans and Sienna Naron, Jennie Reid; Andris Gilbert, Abigail Powers and Victor Velasquez, La Porte; Cassidy Johnson, Jus’style Reynolds and Aubrey Reilly, Lomax; and Grace Kimzey, Scarlet Raymond and Tessa Winkle, Leo A. Rizzuto.  Other competitors were Kera Arrington, Amy Du and Yasmine Mohammed, James H. Baker Sixth Grade Campus; Bianca Harris and Joseph Sommer, La Porte Junior High; and Andrew Barry, Ketki Jadhav and Eliason Lewis, Lomax Junior High.

Photo (left-to-right): Heritage Principal Grisel Wallace, fifth-grader Taryn Pool, eighth-grader Tristan Harper and La Porte Junior High Principal Candace Pohl.